The Faculty 2019

The OUBEP teaching faculty brings together academic and industry experts, who combine world-leading research with real-world experience. The faculty for 2019 are currently being finalised. The 2018 faculty are listed below.

Course Director

The Course Director faciliates the smooth running of the programme over the two weeks. A new Course Director is appointed each year, and the role is usually held by a recent OUBEP alumnus.

Mike Thomas

Core Faculty

The core OUBEP teaching faculty are lecturers and researchers from the Department of Economics at the University of Oxford. The Senior Tutor coordinates all of the academic content of the programme, and the Syndicate Tutors support individual learning throughout the course by facilitating discussion and analysis. Every member of the core faculty attends all of the classes, meals and events that run throughout the two week programme.

Rui Esteves

Senior Tutor

Michalis Rousakis

Syndicate Tutor

Alex Teytelboym

Syndicate Tutor

Petr Sedlacek

Syndicate Tutor

Guest Faculty

The Guest Facutly is comprised of first-class economists selected from a variety of academic and industry-based organisations. These faculty members present on specialised topics and expand on theoretical ideas to provoke new thinking.

Beata Javorcik

Johannes Abeler

Cameron Hepburn

Robert Joyce

David Myatt

Alexei Parakhonyak

Dr. Otto Kassi

Amy McAlister

Elizabeth Baldwin

Richard B. Freeman

Alex J. Wood

Evening Speakers

Distinguished industry-leading keynote speakers join the programme in the evenings to provide topical examples of economic theory in practice.

Peter Lacy

Robin Bew

Dr. James Fry

Phil Wilbraham

Robert Williams